h1

Temmy – Playlog o1

February 3, 2009

TemmySo I’m finally taking an active effort to clear out my RPG backlog, as well as get a ‘Complete’ status for some of my beaten games along the way too. I have a bad habit of taking a break during a playthrough and coming back to it several months later, and restarting because I either forgot what happened up to that point or get lazy in finding out what the next objective is. Hopefully I’ll stick to my current titles and play them through to the end. One of them in particular I’ve had for about five years and still haven’t even beaten it yet.

Final Fantasy III
My go-to game whenever I’m in the mood for mindless grinding. Well, not at the moment actually. I’m still leveling using the Black Belt job method in order to get the max amount of HP (9999). It’s taking some time since the HP increases in varied amounts with each level-up and I’m going for the higher increases. If the HP increase doesn’t meet the highest one I’ve gotten for that particular level-up = reset. I’m about 200 or so away from the target HP, at levels 71-72. If I don’t get to 9999 by level 99, I will kick myself because I wasn’t doing this selective leveling at first and just blazed through about ten or so levels without realizing.
I also still have quest stuff to do, most pressingly giving the Master Smith orichalcum from Cid. I can’t seem to trigger the mognet mail from Cid to get it though. Supposedly he mails you about a monster in his basement and gets Luneth and co. to exterminate it for him, after which you get orichalcum as a reward. Guess it’s time to hit up the GameFAQs boards and add some new FCs to my list.

Vagrant Story
Don’t have much to report on, since I’m still near the beginning of the game at the first workshop. This is my first New Game + playthrough, I beat this back in 2001 but hadn’t picked it up again until recently. I plan to craft all of the ultimate weapon and armour since I can access the Godhands workshop this playthrough, though the process will take a long time (a few months?). The dialogue and music are still as great as I remember them. Also, Ashley’s infamous pants.

The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind
This game… I don’t know how many times I’ve restarted it, but it has to be at least five. I don’t know why, seeing as how there’s a journal system that keeps track of your current quests, but I guess I like having a complete experience of the game from start to finish. Playing as a male imperial because I am unoriginal, plus the female models look pretty bad. Don’t want to download the mod that replaces them with higher quality character models though, I’ll save that for a second playthrough if I ever get to that. Oh, and the class and birthsign I chose are Spellsword and The Mage. Mostly just raiding the bandit caves near the starting town currently. I also have the two expansion packs Tribunal and Bloodmoon, but since I really don’t need a Level 14 assassin paying me a visit in my sleep when I have a noob Level 2 character, I refrained from installing them. wwww

Devil Summoner 2: Kuzunoha Raidou vs. King Abaddon
Not going to say much about this, since it’s been announced for a limited North American release and I don’t wish to spoil anyone. I thought I should at least beat this before the localized version is released, seeing as how I’ve had this game for a few months already. The battle system for this game is faster paced, though it seems to be a slight bit more difficult compared to the first Raidou title. Being able to choose which skills to keep after fusion is a big help though, as well as being able to summon two demons at once. Currently stuck at a boss, so I guess I should just grind some more.

RPGは多いな… 時間が足りねぇorz

EDIT: By the way, hapi⇒ has a new medley out. Should be of interest to Pokemon fans. This one is way longer than the Kirby medley at less than four minutes shy of being a half-hour medley.

ポケモン交響曲「THE MEDLEY OF POKéMON RGBY+GSC -3PBs-」

4 comments

  1. Have you played Oblivion? I’ve heard people argue both sides to which is the better game between Morrowind and Oblivion, just wondering which you think is the better one.

    Both games have the grossest looking females ever, though. XD

    Oh, and *downloads medley*


  2. That Pokemon medley is the greatest thing I’ve heard all week.

    Must make a stepfile to these.


  3. seijika>> I’ve only played about an hour or so of Oblivion, so I can’t judge whether it’s better or worse. I intend on playing it after I finish Morrowind though.
    Haha, yeah. Last I checked, there’s several mods for replacing both games’ character models with better ones, especially the female ones. xD

    Mach>> Glad you enjoyed it. I wonder if this means that there’s a Pokemon doujin arrange album coming up that hapi⇒ is involved in?


  4. “I don’t know how many times I’ve restarted it, but it has to be at least five. I don’t know why, seeing as how there’s a journal system that keeps track of your current quests”

    it’s probably because the journal in Morrowind is awful. if you decide “i’ll take a break from the main quest and do some side quests for a bit,” the Main Quest journal entry will get buried and there’s no quick search feature or any kind of font difference setting it apart from everything else.

    i don’t think i’ve ever enjoyed a game as much while having to try to work my way through so many flaws quite like Morrowind.



Leave a Reply

