h1

Minh T – Playlog 2009 #01

February 14, 2009

Year 2009 has started and already 1 month and half have passed. At the beginning of the year, my 360’s disc tray unfortunately didn’t work anymore. It was jammed when pressing the eject button, and when it actually worked, the 360 wouldn’t detect any disc put in at all. So the console I was addicted to was sent to repair. It was time to dust off the PS2. Woah, I barely touched my PS2 since I got my 360 last year. The only game I seriously played was Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 and Persona 3 FES.

So what have I been doing in my game progression this year? Let’s see! Here’s the summary first, and then come the details after.

In summary

The games I’ve played are:

  • Castle of Shikigami 2 (PS2)
  • Double Dragon (NES)
  • Double Dragon II: The Revenge (NES)
  • Double Dragon III: The Sacred Stones (NES)
  • Unlimited SaGa (PS2)
  • Dragon Ball Z: Infinite World (PS2)
  • Chip ‘n Dale: Rescue Rangers (NES)
  • Monster in My Pocket (NES)
  • Contra III: The Alien Wars (SNES)
  • Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Tournament Fighters (SNES)
  • Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles IV: Turtles in Time (SNES)
  • Final Fantasy X (PS2)
  • Initial D: Special Stage (PS2)
  • Disaster: Day of Crisis (Wii)
  • Tatsunoko vs. Capcom: Cross Generation of Heroes (Wii)
  • No More Heroes (Wii)

Note: All the games in bold are the ones I’ve beaten/completed during the playlog only, so if they were already previously beaten/completed in the past, they’re not counted in my playlog 01.

And now for the detailed report…

First game I beat in 2009 must have been Castle of Shikigami 2 for the PS2 during my Shikigami stream event. Since then, I’ve beaten the game with all characters in single-player, and unlocked freeplay in the process, I’ve beaten a few characters combinations in solo 2-player mode, but there are several more to be done. I still play it once in a while, slowly completing the game. I MUST UNLOCK ALL CUTSCENES!!

I also beat Double Dragon and Double Dragon II: The Revenge, both on the NES, during my NES DD marathon stream. I couldn’t beat the last boss of Double Dragon III: The Sacred Stones though. By that time I was sick of the DD games.

Speaking of NES games, I really should add them to my backlog but I’m lazy.

Then I started to play Unlimited SaGa for the PS2, one of the most hardest and boring RPG ever. It’s only boring because the learning curve is really slow. It’s an RPG played like a board game such as Mage Knight. Even your character in the field is in a form of small piece that you move on a board. It’s really hard to grasp the concept of this game as everything is so unconventional, and on top of that, there’s no tutorial. Combine that with SaGa series being traditionally hard. Most people give up right away, but since I own this game, I decided to force myself to play through this. The more I play, the more interesting it gets, but still not incredibly fun. It’s the type of game where you should spend an incredible amount of time to finally start enjoying it.

By the end of the month of January, Unlimited SaGa got interrupted because my best friend Dinh (yes, I’m Minh and he’s Dinh, true story) bought Dragon Ball Z: Infinite World for the PS2 and lended it to me. The game is played like Budokai 3, but a vast improvement in some parts. As soon as I got it, I got addicted to it and completed the game in 3 days at the beginning of February, having all characters, all moves, all capsules with a 100% completion.

Then, on a stream event, I beat Chip ‘n Dale: Rescue Rangers on the NES, Monster in My Pocket on the NES,  Hard difficulty of Contra III: The Alien Wars on the SNES (borrowed from my good friend Rocca), story mode of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Tournament Fighters on the SNES (Rocca’s), Hard difficulty of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles IV: Turtles in Time on the SNES (Cousin’s). That’s five games I’ve beaten in a single stream. It was supposed to be a Chip ‘n Dale: Rescue Rangers stream, but I didn’t expect to beat it so quickly.

Putting aside Castle of Shikigami 2 and Unlimited SaGa, I then started to replay Final Fantasy X on the PS2 because it’s been a long time since I’ve beaten that game and I hardly remember it anymore. I wanted to refresh my memory. I was planning to rename all the aeons to the names of all Slaves to the Grind members, and having the Backloggery admins as the Magus Sisters.

But even that game got put aside because I borrowed my brother’s fat PS2 to be able to play Initial D: Special Stage. Did you know that game is not playable on the slim PS2? That’s right, I always assumed that the slim PS2 is identical to the fat PS2, but that’s not the case at all! A very small percentage of PS2 games (or maybe just Initial D?) use an odd sound file that the regular PS2 games don’t use, and this causes the system to lock up. Initial D eurobeat songs are too great for the slim PS2 to handle.

And finally we got Disaster: Day of Crisis for the Wii. I borrowed my friend Blaze’s Wii for a full playthrough of Disaster on a Disaster stream event. I started the game on Tuesday February 10th at 7pm, and beaten the game in one sitting, streamed the whole thing. It was 5:30am when I finally beat it! My my, what a great stream! Some of you even stayed there from the beginning to the end. On top of that, I’ve never had so many guest voice chatters in a single stream. I’ve had: Kibou, Try4ce, Drumble, Noi, Buuhan1, Ashen, Jellysoup, Redjarman, Derkomai. It was great discovering this game along with you guys on my first playthrough. Also thanks jim_profit for helping me in some parts of the game.

At this point, I finally got my 360 back, but I haven’t played a game seriously yet! It’s because I still have Blaze’s Wii so I want to play some more games because returning it to him.

I’ve played and beaten Tatsunoko vs. Capcom: Cross Generation of Heroes in single-player for the first time, I’ve always played in versus mode against my friends before. I used team Gatchaman for my first playthrough, and then I used Gold Lightan on my second one. That was a nightmare against the last boss because Gold Lightan is so big he couldn’t dodge against the boss’s Super grab move. Took me half an hour, I think?

Yesterday, I beat Bitter mode of No More Heroes for the Wii by using a new game+ of Blaze’s cleared save file. I wanted to do that after watching Drum play in backloggery stream. Thanks Drum for streaming it! It really made me want to give NMH a try, and I enjoyed it!

Lastly, since the beginning of February until now, I’ve been streaming all my master run attempts of Contra III: The Alien War. All failures so far, but I’ll give more details in its own post later.

That’s it for my playlog 2009, and I leave you this awesome video:

One comment

  1. That’s plenty of gaming without a 360. I bet you’re glad to finally have it back, huh?

    I’ve been neglecting mine, I just haven’t felt like playing my 360 at all for the longest time. =p



Leave a Reply

