h1

_hojo:Super Pac-Man – Turbo Hyper Dot Eating

November 21, 2010

_Pac-Man Championship Edition was a fantastic game. It was the kind of game that made me say “I wish they’d made this sooner so I could have been playing it earlier in my lifespan.” Even worse is that the original was out for over a year before I played it for the first time. I was missing out on joy for that year. It’s because I don’t really care for original Pac-Man that much. I’m sorry, Pac-Man. I’m sorry for letting my opinion on your game from last century sway me against your game from this century. It was wrong of me, and I apologize. And yet…even after that, I wasn’t that excited about the sequel at the first announcement.

_crossposted from We Fear Change

_You’d think that I’d have learned my lesson. “CE was awesome after you doubted it. Don’t doubt CE DX.” Yet I did…at first. “CE was like taking Pac-Man and making it fucking awesome times 100. What’s there to improve?” I just auto-assumed it’d be more of the same, just new maps. Silly Hojo. You should have known. Well…at least I turned my opinion around after seeing Pac-Man eat like…a thousands ghosts in a video preview. It made me realize “CEDX is going to be awesome and different. I’m sorry again, Pac-Man!”

_So…Pac-Man Championship Edition DX came out this past week. God…it’s so good. The stage designs actually IMPROVE on the original games. Where in the original game, both sides of the screen were simply mirrors, in DX, you often get dot patterns that flow between the screen wraparound. Whipping along corners and warping from border to border around ghosts sleeping ghosts is just…awesome. It’s hard to put into words just how good it is. Like I said, I’m not a big fan of the original Pac-Man. Sure, it’s fun for a little bit, but playing the same screen over and over again just gets stale. But the CE games is like having a MASSIVE Pac-Man board, only you do them in small bites. Shitty explanation? Maybe. But I think that’s the best easiest way for me to explain why it appeals to me.

_We are currently going through…a strange time in gaming. It’s fully mainstream and there are more people than ever sayings that it developers should be doing [X]. I mean, even when gaming was “underground,” people complained, but it was easier for the developers to just ignore us. Now you have some people saying that games should be THIS long, or that games NEED multiplayer to hold people’s interest. While gaming is being pulled in so many directions, it’s easy to forget that if a game isn’t fun, it’s not worth playing. Gameplay trumps all, and Pac-Man Championship Edition DX is a shining example of this. A variation of a 30-year-old game still holds up and has managed to be one of the best releases of the year.

One comment

  1. […] _crossposted from Slaves to the Grind […]



Leave a Reply

